TSOTSI (2005) – My rating: 8.5/10

TsotsiAs I started watching Tsotsi, I had a deep loathing for the main character.  Tsotsi, played by Presley Chweneyagae, was a ruthless gang leader in Johannesburg, Africa.  I wondered what happened to make such a young boy so evil and amoral.  As the movie progressed, I found myself becoming more compassionate but not forgiving because his crimes were not easy to process.  By the end of this film, which spanned over a 6 day period, I was moved to tears.  In 2006, Tsotsi won an Academy Award for Best Foreign Language Film as well as nominated for a Golden Globe award for Best Foreign Language Film.  Tsotsi was directed by Gavin Hood who was also nominated for a couple of European awards for his endless work on this film.

Tsotsi has a profound message and will cause you to do some soul searching.  Love can heal many folks.  The absence of love can do much damage and cause many significant problems.  I believe this movie should be seen by all, if only to get you thinking about who you are when it comes to a situation like this in your own backyard.  Tsotsi is on DVD and is available on Netflix’s instant watch.  I urge you to check it out.

 

3 responses to “TSOTSI (2005) – My rating: 8.5/10

  1. Intriguing. Sounds depressing, though. And not for kids.

    • It was somewhat depressing. The ending sort of made it all worth the watch. I love exploring new ideas and seeing how others might depict a situation I thought I knew the answer to. Thanks for visiting — I will visit continue to visit your site as well.

      • I doubt my kids would get through it, but I will look for it. It sounds true to life, and pure evil is rare in life. Things are always more complicated than they appear at first.

Leave a Reply

