HITMAN: AGENT 47 (2015) – My rating: 7.8/10

Hitman_Agent47Hollywood is making these summer action films better than ever.  I couldn’t find anything wrong with Hitman: Agent 47.  I was prepared to dislike the whole Hitman sequel concept, then write a mediocre review about it.  Instead, I only have good things to say.  Yes it did have much of the familiar precise, robotic fighting we’ve seen before but this plot has a very different twist that I found down right brilliant.  Also, I particularly liked that Hitman: Agent 47 was unpredictable.  I actually didn’t know what was going to happen every step of the way.  For me, this was cause for excitement and mystery.  The movie opens up with agents looking for a girl named Katia van Dees, (Hannah Ware) at any cost.  We don’t know why this girl is so important but we realize that she is the focus of most of the movie and we spend a great deal of time trying to figure out why.  She is befriended by ICA, John Smith (Zachary Quinto) who convinces her to let him help her get away from the deadly forces trying to hunt her down.  Her most deadly hunter is Agent 47 (Rupert Friend) who is an elite assassin who was genetically engineered from conception to be the perfect killing machine, and is known only by the last two digits on the bar code tattooed on the back of his neck.  As her journey gets more daunting and friends more scarce, we realize we don’t know anything about her or the people chasing her and we also don’t know who to trust.  As we become more entwined, we are taken on a strange but exciting thrill ride that unwinds with  lots of special effects, good lines and good action.  There’s a lot of content to this story and I think it’s a good one.

I will speak on Hannah Ware’s inexperience at this kind of action movie.  Known for Betrayal (a TV series), Boss (HBO series) and OldBoy (Spike Lee movie) she hasn’t really played this kind of character.  It was noticeable during some of the action sequences when she didn’t seem to know what to do next.  It reminded me of the choreography try outs on “So You Think You Can Dance” when a contestant bombed out because they didn’t know the steps.  I suppose she’ll get better with time.  I really like her as an actress.   At any rate, I smell another sequel judging from clues given at end of the film.  Check it out!

2 responses to “HITMAN: AGENT 47 (2015) – My rating: 7.8/10

  1. Pingback: MOVIE and DVD INDEX | CAROL's WORLD

Leave a Reply

