PIRATES OF THE CARIBBEAN: DEAD MEN TELL NO TALES (2017) – My rating: 8.5/10

I am a fierce Johnny Depp fan so I am bias toward his movies. I find there are many fans who share my tilted scales of justice and reasoning everywhere. I’m not ashamed nor do I apologize for my lopsided analysis of Johnny Depp’s never ending Caribbean flicks. I do, however notice his days of spry movement and quick witted youthful eager and insightful nonsense is slowing down considerably. Well what would one expect at the age of 54 trying to pass somewhere between very young and very, very young. I myself having been bitten by the old age bug can testify to the change in body, if not yet in mind. It all catches up to each other eventually. Dead Men Tell No Tales is a prime example of the struggle between mind and body trying to settle on how old am I really? It’s probably time to stop while things are still looking pretty good.

Jack Sparrow is up to his old tricks once again, plundering, robbing, making fast witty jokes and sexing those who will allow him, married or not. Dead Men Tell No Tales opens up with 12-year old Henry Turner (Lewis McGowan) trying to warn his father Will Turner (Orlando Bloom) that the mythical Trident of Poseidon is able to break his curse and free him from his ship, The Flying Dutchman. Of course Will does not believe such a ship exists and demands Henry leave his ship, never to return. Nine years later, Henry finds himself working on a British Royal Navy Warship that has just been attacked by undead sailors, led by Captain Armando Salazar (Javier Bardem) and his ghost crew. Everyone is killed except Henry who is left to give Jack Sparrow (Johnny Depp) a message from Captain Salazar, and so the journey begins. Aside from the message he carries, Henry also needs Jack to help him find the Trident of Poseidon. Meanwhile, in Saint Martin, a beautiful young woman named Carina Smyth (Kaya Scodelario) has been sentenced to death for witchcraft because of her knowledge of astronomy and horology. She escapes, runs into Henry, meets Jack Sparrow and gets recaptured by the British Army along with Jack. They are both sentenced to death but are rescued by Henry. After much discussion, they decide to follow their respective dreams to find the Trident and conquer Captain Salazar and his crew, reverse Will’s curse, and get back many other dreams gone astray. Jack and crew end up on an island where he meets up with Captain Hector Barbossa (Geoffrey Rush), former owner of the Black Pearl, who decides to help Jack and breaks the Black Pearl out of it’s captive bottle, restoring it to it’s original size and glory among other things.

From this point, many more exciting events take place. Of course I’ve told you all the spoilers I could without giving it all away. I understand Dead Men Tell No Tales will be the last of the Pirate series and I think they have gone out with a very good one. If you haven’t seen it already, check this one out. The humor is really good and the story makes a lot of sense. Even though I love, love, love Johnny Depp, I recognize this last sequel as being a worthy one, for real.

 

Save

Save

2 responses to “PIRATES OF THE CARIBBEAN: DEAD MEN TELL NO TALES (2017) – My rating: 8.5/10

  1. I enjoyed it too!
    *SPOILER ALERT*

    I enjoyed seeing Will and Elizabeth together again <3.

    • Too bad this is the last — one of my favorites is Geoffrey Rush! I won’t say anymore, it’s so easy to spoil the story. Thanks for your comments and do continue to visit carolsworlds.

Leave a Reply

